Metanoia (n.)

I love beautiful words. I found this word the other day and it just makes so much sense to me for this season of my life…

metanoia

I am definitely going through some change and transition currently. Working on improving myself in all areas has been a work in progress for many years. Lately, though, I have been a little more diligent in working on changing my mind, my heart, and most definitely myself. (I can’t do that without God’s grace, though.) I am tired of things being just mediocre. I am tired of just getting by. I am tired of surviving life rather than living it to its fullest potential!

SO, I am doing something about it!

No more just idly sitting by wishing and hoping for things to change. No more having dreams and not making them come true!

I’ve realized something over the last few months – that in order to be happier, more content, more grateful – I need to live more simply and intentionally. Living simply doesn’t have to mean going without or being destitute. To me it’s more of adopting a minimalist lifestyle – you can read more about my experience so far with a minimalism lifestyle here. Instead of looking at it in a negative light, I think simplifying our lives and being more intentional makes for more freedom and empowerment. The less stuff you have to worry about the more time you have for the meaningful things. Whether that is family, friends, traveling, hobbies, or whatever allows for more joy in your life. For me, it means purging the negativity and unnecessary excess in and replacing it with the important things that make me feel more fulfilled.

««But what makes me feel fulfilled? Happy? Content?»»

I’ve been thinking about the junk that makes my life cloudy, unhealthy, and monotone. Things that do not allow me live my life in the way I want; in a way that bears fruit. The things that are holding me back from achieving my dreams. Things that are toxic. Things that need to be let go to make room for healthier habits.

I have the ability to change the direction my life is going. I have the ability to get up in the morning and make my life what I want it to be. I get to choose. I get to decide what kind of day I am going to have. No one gets a say, but God and myself. (And in that order.)

We have more power over our lives than we think. It’s called free will. We don’t have to take a certain path because “they” say that’s what we should do. We don’t have to be miserable. We don’t have to feel trapped by life. We don’t have to feel lost. We don’t have to feel bogged down by society and what they say we should, or shouldn’t, have in our lives to be successful – which in most cases they say we need MORE and we need BIGGER. I couldn’t disagree more!

To continue my journey of change I want less of the following:

  • Less TV.
  • Less Facebook – or maybe none at all for a while.
  • Less negativity – negative people, negative words, negative vibes – on my part and others.
  • Less noise.
  • Less spending money on going out to dinner, fancy coffees – just less buying things in general that are unnecessary.
  • Less self-doubting.
  • Less excuses.
  • Living with less fear.

…And I want more of these things:

  • More Jesus.
  • More prayer and learn to meditate.
  • Read more books – actual books, not electronic books. I started a reading challenge. I have a book to read each month for the year!
  • Be outside in nature – even when it’s below freezing here in Montana!
  • Downsize more than I already have.
  • Take more photos.
  • Travel and adventures.
  • Write more.
  • Listen to more music.
  • Start yoga again.
  • Practice more self-love – that bubble bath that I am always dreaming of.
  • I need more art in my life – seeing, creating, appreciating.
  • More time with people I love.
  • Save for my tiny house.
  • Live with passion.
  • Never give up on my dreams!
  • I most definitely need to surround myself with like-minded people.

Easy peasy, right?

One thing I highly recommend doing is write your goals down and look at them often. Whether that is in your journal, on a post-it, on the bathroom mirror, on the whiteboard on the fridge. Where ever you write them down make sure you see them everyday and read them. Remind yourself what you are working toward and why.

I plan to pick one or two to work on at a time. Changing your habits does not happen overnight. I read once that it take three weeks to create a new habit. Some things will be easier to cut out than others, but keep working at it and you’ll make it. The things that you want more of in your life to make it more fulfilling are really just ways of self-care. So, take care of yourself.

What are you going to do today to take care of yourself, to make your heart more full, to feel content, to feel stronger, to feel beautiful, to feel loved, to feel more yourself?

 dsc_0116

Live your life with passion, with some drive, decide that you are going to push yourself. The last chapter of your life has not been written yet, and it doesn’t matter about what happened yesterday. It doesn’t matter what happened to you, what matters is, ‘what are you going to do about it?’  -Les Brown

One thought on “Metanoia (n.)

  1. Pingback: A Love Affair | The Wayfaring Brunette

Leave a Reply

